Countdown to 2018
Calgary Midwinter Bluesfest

Ramada Hotel Downtown
Calgary Bluesfest Host Hotel
click here for info

The Blues Foundation


Calgary Blues Music Association (CBMA) is committed to fostering, preserving and furthering blues music and musicians, as well as presenting some of the finest blues to be found anywhere on the planet.

On Wednesday, Feb. 24th, 2010 CBMA honoured local and regional artists who have dedicated their careers to blues music during the 4th annual CBMA Blues Hall of Fame Awards ceremony.

Nominees in seven categories are determined by the CBMA Board of Directors. Winners in each category were chosen by the public in an online vote at the Calgary Bluesfest website.

2010 Blues Hall of Fame Award Winners

Bass Player of the Year
Tom Knowles

Guitar Player of the Year
Ron Burke

Keyboard Player of the Year
Bill Dowey

Drummer of the Year
Donald Ray Johnson

Saxophone Player of the Year
Mike Clark

Harmonica Player of the Year
Richie Pollack

Singer of the Year
Donald Ray Johnson


Holger Petersen MC, is a Canadian businessman, record producer and radio broadcaster. Holger owns and operates the independent roots music label Stony Plain Records, and hosts the programs Saturday Night Blues on CBC Radio One and Natch'l Blues on the CKUA Radio Network. Holger Peterson was named a Member of the Order of Canada in 2003.