Countdown to 2018
Calgary Midwinter Bluesfest

Ramada Hotel Downtown
Calgary Bluesfest Host Hotel
click here for info

The Blues Foundation


Calgary Blues Music Association (CBMA) is committed to fostering, preserving and furthering blues music and musicians, as well as presenting some of the finest blues to be found anywhere on the planet.

On Wednesday, Feb. 25th, 2009 CBMA will honour local and regional artists who have dedicated their careers to blues music during the 2nd annual CBMA Blues Hall of Fame Awards ceremony.

Nominees in seven categories are determined by the CBMA Board of Directors. Winners in each category will be chosen by the public in an online vote at the Calgary Bluesfest website. Voting runs from Thursday, January 1 to Thursday, February 12, 2009.


CBMA Blues Awards - Past Winners

*2008 winners

Guitarist of the Year - Amos Garrett

Bass Player of the Year - Suitcase James

Drummer of the Year - Donald Ray Johnson

Keyboard Player of the Year - Ron Casat

Harmonica Player of the Year - Richie Pollack

Sax Player of the Year - Mike Clark

2008 Hall of Fame Inductions

In 2008, four legendary Canadian artists were inducted In Memorium into the CBMA Hall of Fame.

Back Alley John

Doug Riley

Long John Baldry

Jimmy Payne